Think Tank‎ > ‎


The goal of Transition STEM: A Wounded Warriors Think Tank is to produce a collective response to transition issues facing Wounded Warriors and identify recommendations for improved supports, policy, and funding. Everyone attending Transition STEM has a lot to offer by way of experience, scholarship, and accomplishments. In talking with participants, the Transition STEM team has been impressed by everyone's interest in the topic and desire to make a contribution through the think tank process. We are also impressed by your desire to become familiar with aspects of Transition STEM that are outside of your experience, scholarship, and accomplishments. We welcome the following participants to Transition STEM and look forward to collaborating with you.
FirstName LastName Title Org
Christopher Andersen Director, STEM Initiatives Ohio State University
Jaclyn Anderson Director, Academic Resource Center Kansas City Kansas Community College
John Bechtol Assistant Dean of Students University of Wisconsin-Madison
William Benzel State Director U.S. Department of Labor / VETS
Gary Branch Dean of Student Development Southern Union State
Theresa Bridges College/Diversity Lead Black & Veatch
Catherine Brogna Learning/Disabilities Specialist/Counselor Massasoit Community College
Valerie Brown National Representative UMKC Student Veterans Organization
Michael Bruns Representative Disabled Veterans Outreach Program
Kim Collins Clinical Psychologist MIDWEST Alliance/University of Illinois
Lyla Crawford Program Coordinator AccessSTEM Alliance
Ted Daywalt President VetJobs
Dee Evans Asst Dir UMKC Community & Public Affairs University of Missouri-Kansas City
John Flach Professor Wright State University
Carol Fleisher Director MU Veterans Center
Shari Grewe Department of Veterans Affairs, Heartland Network, VISN (15) Community Liaison and OEF-OIF-OND Seamless Transition Program Manager
Jeremy Grisham Field Coordinator Veterans Conservation Corps
Kyle Hausmann-Stokes Founder/Director/Producer Blue Three Productions, LLC
Kara Hayes Veteran Navigator Veteran Corps
Anthony Hofmann District Commander U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Abbie Holland Schmit Manager, Alumni Wounded Warrior Project
Kerry Honeycutt Research Associate COTELCO - Institute on Disability and Public Policy
Jeffrey Huffman DOJ Coordinator UCM Whiteman Advantage
Ronda Jenson Director of Research UMKC Institute for Human Development
Teresa Johnson Instructional Consultant Ohio State University
Rebecca Johnson Director, Research Center for Human Animal Interaction University of Missouri, College of Veterinary Medicine
Michelle Kacer Assistant Manager, Family Support Wounded Warrior Project
Bonnie Kaufman Policy Analyst Wounded Warrior Project
Larry Kay Executive Director Missouri Veterans Commission
James King Associate Professor RTP New Mexico State University
Christine King Academic Program Manager Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
John King Occupational, Safety and Health Specialist DOL-OSHA, DEP-Maritime
Donna Korbel Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs University of Connecticut
Kris Kozuch Coordinator of Disability Services Springfield Technical Community College
Randy Larry   NMSU/Reaching the Pinnacle
Scott Laurent Director, Office of Services for Students with Disabilities University of Missouri-Kansas City
William Lawson Regional Director Business Executives for National Security
Amy Lobben Associate Professor University of Oregon
Timm Lovitt TBI Field Coordinator WDVA/ Vet Corps
Suzanne Lueker Director of Non-Traditional & Veteran Student Services / Veterans Center Kansas State University
Ken Manley Senior Sourcing Specialist Rockwell Collins, Inc.
Jay Martin Principal Investigator Midwest Alliance in STEM - University of WI - Madison
Tamara Massey Garrett Director Auburn University Montgomery
Barbara Mayfield ADA/504 Coord., Dir. of Accessibility Services & THRIVE University of Central Missouri
Bianca McArrell The Ohio State University NSF _RDE program coordinator
Karalin McKain Executive Director Kansas City Kansas Community College
John McNeill Veterans of Foreign Wars Assistant Adjutant General
Michele McNeill Project Director Hunter College, The City University of New York
Leslie Miller Executive Director of Research University of Phoenix Research Institute
Mary Moriarty Evaluation and Assessment Researcher Smith College
Leo Morton Chancellor University of Missouri-Kansas City
Delilah Nichols Coordinator, Military and Veteran Services University of Central Missouri
Julia O'Dell Associate Director The University of Kansas Veterans Upward Bound
Daniel Parker Associate Director, National Membership Veterans of Foreign Wars
Mike Pereira Fellowship Program Director The Mission Continues
Alexis Petri Project Director University of Missouri-Kansas City
Carl Pettis Principal Investigator AASD-STEM
Paul Polychronis Director of the Counseling Center University of Central Missouri
Christine Pribbenow Associate Scientist Midwest Alliance at UW-Madison
Kelly Roberts Associate Professor University of Hawaii Center on Disability Studies
Phil Rockwell Career Counselor and Staff Advisor to Student Vets of America Chapter Georgia State University
Doris Rogers Project Manager UMKC-IHD Mid-America ATTC
Alex Rosero Academic Advisor Hunter College, The City University of New York
Jamison Ryan President UMKC Student Veterans Organization
Peter Schmidt Project Director, Veterans Training Support Center Center for Learning Connections of Edmonds Community College
Dan Sewell Vice President, Leadership Council Student Veterans of America
Emily Shepard Graphic Facilitator Emily Shepard Graphic Facilitation
Clark Shingledecker Director - Ohio's STEM Ability Alliance Wright State University
Jared Shorter Officer Programs Recruiter U.S. Navy
Christopher Smiley   UMKC Army ROTC
William Smith Health Educator University of Missouri - Kansas City
Annette Sobel Assistant to the Provost for Strategic Opportunities University of Missouri
Robert Stodden Director & Professor University of Hawaii at Manoa
Susan Terry Director, Career Center University of Washington
Linda Thurston Program Officer, Division of Human Resource Development National Science Foundation
Kevin Truman Dean UMKC School of Computing and Engineering
Appie Van de Liefvoort Professor University of Missouri-Kansas City
Jeff Vernooy Director - Office of Disability Services Wright State University
Erin Walker Volunteer Coordinator The Mission Continues
Jane Warner Director Keene State College
Stancia Whitcomb Jenkins Asst. V.C. for Community and Public Affairs University of Missouri - Kansas City
Kenneth White Manager Brookhaven National Laboratory